Torpedo Press

The New Administration of Aesthetics
Eds. Tone Hansen & Trude Iversen

The New Administration of Aesthetics is an anthology that continues from the different contributions at the conference with the same name, held in Oslo in April 2006. Like the conference, this book pose questions about recent changes in the art institution, and how this affect those involved. New institutional models and organizational methods seem to have the effect of polarisation rather than coherence. The “art institution” understood in singular as an assemblage of the artists, curators, art critics, theoreticans, historians and their related museums, galleries and educational institutions, seems no longer to offer an adequate ground for analysis, and has already been replaced by other forms of alliances. Currently, pragmatic, short- or long-term identifications take place in the art scene contrary to old oppositions, something which demands a change in conceptual framework and hermeneutic horizons.

20.9 x 14.8 cm, 128 pages

Contributors: Gerald Raunig, Stian Grøgaard, Tone Hansen, 
Carey Young, Craig Buckley, Adriana Kuiper, 16 Beaver
Group, Brian Holmes, Maria Lind and Alex Farquharson.
Design by Lina Viste Grønli
Copy-editing: Line Ulekleiv, Karen C. Tandberg, Eivind Slettemås.
Translation: Sol Kjøk (Tone Hansen), Georg Morgenstern (Stian Grøgaard), Aileen Derieg (Gerald Raunig).
Language editing: Geir Haraldseth (Line Ulekleiv for Tone Hansen).
Printing: Sekkelsten Trykkeri
Torpedo Press 2007

The New Administration of Aesthetics

Out of print

Out of print